Skip navigation.

Project team

Printer-friendly versionSend by email
There are three teams in aerosol_cci, with different focus and tasks, working together to achieve the project goals in line with the SoW in the ESA Invitation to Tender:
-          The EO expert team is built to include all requested sensors and algorithmic approaches in Europe. With regard to the ATSR sensor family and the MERIS sensor several teams are included with the goal of comparing and integrating their different approaches as far as feasible.
-          The climate modelling and validation science team consists of the AEROCOM leaders (thus using a well-established existing initiative to involve the wide international community on the user side) and experienced validation partners with access to relevant correlative datasets.
-          The system engineering team is built up by experts from three operational data centers with long experience in development and maintenance of operational atmospheric science EO algorithms.
All scientific participants have published relevant aerosol work in peer-reviewed journals and act themselves as peer reviewers. In the following the participating institutes with their key roles and personnel are briefly summarized for each of the aerosol_cci expert teams:
Project coordination
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Dr. Thomas Popp is acting as joint science leader and project manager.
Miriam Kosmale is the deputy project manager.
Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI)
Prof. Dr. Gerrit de Leeuw is acting as joint science leader.
EO expert team
Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI)
Prof. Dr. Gerrit de Leeuw is leading algorithm development; his team is working on ATSR and SLSTR.
Oxford University (UO)
Dr. Don Grainger (Oxford) and his team are focusing on ATSR and SLSTR retrievals.
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (RAL)
Dr. Gareth Thomas (RAL) and his team are supporting work on ATSR and SLSTR retrievals.
Swansea University (SU)
Dr. Peter North and his team are focusing on ATSR and SLSTR retrievals.
University of Bremen (UB)
Dr. Marco Vountas and his Team  are focusing on MERIS retrievals and coordinate cloud studies.
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Dr. Thomas Popp and his team are focusing on synergetic retrieval approaches and an ATSR ensemble.
Dr. Lars Klueser (DLR) and partners from BIRA, ULB and LMD  are  focusing on IASI dust retrieval.
Lille University - Laboratoire d'Optique Atmosphérique (LOA)
Prof. Dr. Oleg Dubovik and his team are focusing on polarization retrieval approaches.
Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI)
Dr. Pepijn Veefkind and his team are focusing on UV index retrieval and ist use.
Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomie (BIRA)
Dr. Christine Bingen and her team are focusing on stratospheric retrievals.
Dr. Sophie Vandebussche  is focusing on IASI retrievals.
Dr. Yves Govaerts and his team is working on hourly SEVIRI retrievals.
The Freie Universität Berlin (FUB)
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Fischer and his team are focusing on retrieval of aerosol absorption over ocean
Universite Libre de Brussels
Prof. Lieben Clarisse is working on IASI retrievals.
Ecole Polytechnique (LMD)
Dr. Virginie Capelle  is working on IASI retrievals.
Climate modelling and validation science team
Norwegian Meteorological Institute (MetNo)
Dr. Michael Schulz is leading user involvement and liaison with the AEROCOM modelling community and working on trend studies.
Max-Planck Institute for Meteorology (MPI)
Dr. Stefan Kinne is responsible for validation with AERONET and application on radiative forcing.
Dr. Christoph Brühl is responsible for applications in the stratosphere.
Norwegian Institute for Air Reearch (NILU)
Dr. Kerstin Stebel is responsible for validation of stratospheric products and tropospheric validation with WMO-GAW in situ data based on the World Data Center for Aerosols hosted by NILU.
Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ)
Prof. Dr. Ulrike Lohmann and her Team  are working on application for aerosol-cloud interactions.
London Metropolitan university
Dr. Yong Xue is working on valdiation over China.
System engineering team
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Dr. Julian Meyer-Arnek is leading the system engineering tasks.
Dr. Julian Meyer-Arnek is responsible for the ECV prototypes and production of retrievals involving spectrometer instruments and merged products.
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (RAL)
Dr. Richard Siddans and Andy Smith are responsible for the ECV prototypes and production of ATSR retrievals.
Lille University– ICARE data center (ICARE)
Dr. Jacques Descloiutres and his team are responsible for the ECV prototypes and production of POLDER and MERIS retrievals.